Nutella Brownies

I made it 13 hours into 2011 before breaking my new years resolution. And then I had breakfast.

I had resolved to cut back on the sweets. I’m going with the “it’s not my fault” excuse. There were a ton of desserts at our New Years celebration. My cousin picked up an enormous Gateau St. Honoré for my birthday and refused to let me leave without taking the leftovers home with me. A Gateau St Honoré is basically a giant cream puff. This one was filled with pastry cream, chocolate pastry cream, whipped cream, and even had some pieces of chocolate cake in it. I couldn’t let it go to waste.  So I had a piece for breakfast. And another later in the day for dessert.

So my New Years resolution starts.. Now!

My contribution to the New Years celebration were Abby Dodge’s Nutella Brownies. If you read a reasonable number of food blogs, you’ve probably come across these already. A few months ago I saw post after post about how incredible these are. The reviews were right, these are awesome. I don’t know why I waited so long to make them.

They are also incredibly easy to make.  If you’re not much of a baker this recipe is a great place to start; there are only 4 ingredients and you don’t need to know any baking techniques.  If you can mix (or have a mixer) you can make these brownies. I found this recipe at Savory Sweet Life.

Nutella Brownies

  • 1/2 cup Nutella
  • 1 egg
  • 5 tbsp flour
  • icing sugar for dusting (you could also top with chopped hazelnuts)
  1. Preheat oven to 350. Grease a mini muffin tin.
  2. In a large bowl mix the Nutella and egg together until smooth.
  3. Add the flour, mix until completely incorporated.
  4. Try not to eat the batter, there is just enough to fill the muffin tins.
  5. Pour batter into mini muffin tin, filling till about 3/4 full.
  6. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes.
  7. Let cool completely, then dust with icing sugar.

Enjoy!

42 thoughts on “Nutella Brownies

  1. Surprisingly, I haven’t come across this recipe yet. But it has so few ingredients I am intrigued! And wondering if I can make a low carb/gluten free version if I make my own nutella! Yum! Yours look great, I can imagine how they swayed you off of your NY resolution.

  2. Wonderful, easy treat to put together. If you have to fall off the no sweet wagon I think this would be a good one to go with. ;) It’s really a fairly healthy recipe.

  3. Would you believe that I still have yet to try Nutella? This looks like a great recipe to practice on!

  4. I agree – not your fault at all. As if there could be fault associated with making these! Psh. They’re wonderful and good, and there’s nothing wrong with making and eating all of them.

  5. This sound utterly fabulous will be bookmarking this baby!
    ★•.¸¸.•*¨*❤•.¸¸.•*¨*☆•.¸¸.•*¨*❤
    HAPPY NEW 2011 YEAR!!!
    ❤•.¸¸.•*¨*☆•.¸¸.•*¨*❤•.¸¸.•*¨*★

  6. You’ve gotta love quick and easy sweets! They sound fabulous.. I wouldn’t feel bad about already breaking the resolution.. I don’t think I could ever do something like that anyway.. I just love sweets too much! :)

  7. These look like an even-more-decadent version of my personal kryptonite: Two Bite Brownies. The only thing preventing me from making a batch right freakin’ now is the fact that I polished off the last of the Nutella the other day. :)
    (Nutella doesn’t count as dessert, right?)

  8. Well… I think the NY’s resolutions really can’t start until the sweets are gone. I mean, really… you can’t waste them… that wouldn’t be a good start to the new year either. ;)
    Love these brownies!! We recently discovered Nutella and absolutely adore it! My kids will love these. Maybe I will surprise them after school today with a nice batch!

  9. Lynn… I hope you don’t mind, but I popped these into the oven and re-blogged about them! I linked to you and Abby both. Thank you so much for posting these! My kids will be thrilled when they come home form school today… well… if there are any left!!

  10. How can this recipe have so few ingredients and sound so good?!? I would say I’m going to make this but I have NEVER managed to save the nutella for an actual recipe. My normal strategy is to eat it straight outta the jar. Alas, maybe I’ll buy another jar and try to exercise enough self control to make these! :)

  11. I am making these right now! I have all of the ingredients and need something sweet and chocolaty! Don’t ya love being such an inspiration! You are my “Food Buzz” of the day!

  12. How could you possibly resist the cream puff dessert? (Happy birthday by the way!)
    The nutella brownies look phenomenal. I don’t think I could resist those either. I hope you have a wonderful happy, healthy 2010…preferably with dessert ;>)

  13. Wow–can in be possible that these are so easy to make??? I have some friends who are Nutella fiends. Next time we’re together we may have to give these a whirl. Yum!

    1. It’s a spared kind of like Nutella or Peanut Butter. You can spared it on breads, muffins, or crackers. Melt some and pour over ice cream. You can also eat it straight out of the jar with a spoon which is my favorite way. I keep thinking about making cookies with it and may try that someday.

  14. Hi, i want to make this but i only have regular muffin tins. will there be a difference in baking time because of this? thanks!

    1. I’ve never tried, but I think they would take a few minutes longer. I would test for doneness with a toothpick after the 12 minutes are up. If they aren’t I’d bake them for a couple more minutes and test again.

What do you think?