Chocolate Nutella Bites

The idea for these cookies came to me in the shower, which means it could have been genius or madness. A ball-shaped shortbread cookie with a Nutella filling, sort of like a cookie truffle. There were some technical issues that had to be addressed, namely how to make a ball out of a spread. My solution was to chill the Nutella for 30 minutes, scoop it out using a mini melon baller then freeze the balls for 30 minutes.

The next issue was would the cookie dough hold its shape, or would they turn into a leaky Nutella mess? The only way to find out was to try, and these were a definite success. They kept a fairly round shape, and the Nutella stayed put in all of them.

Best of all, they were delicious; the perfect blend of chocolate and hazelnut flavours.

I think these are destined to become a holiday tradition.

Chocolate Nutella Bites

  • 1/2 cup Nutella
  • 4 oz bittersweet chocolate
  • 1/2 tsp espresso powder
  • 1/2 cup superfine sugar
  • 1 cup unsalted butter
  • 2 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 cups flour
  • icing sugar for dusting
  1. Put the Nutella in the fridge for at least 30 minutes till hardened. Using a mini melon baller scoop out 24 balls, place them on wax paper then freeze for 30 minutes.
  2. While the Nutella is freezing, make the cookie dough. Melt the chocolate with the espresso powder, set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, beat the butter and sugar together until fluffy. Blend in the chocolate, followed by the cornstarch and salt.
  4. Mix in the flour until a smooth dough is formed.
  5. Eat some cookie dough (for quality control)
  6. Shape the dough into a log, cover in plastic wrap and refrigerate for 20 minutes.
  7. Once the dough has chilled, slice it into 24 even circles. Take a circle, put a Nutella ball in the center then using your hands roll it into a circle, making sure there are no seems. Repeat for the remaining dough/nutella. Refrigerate for 30 minutes.
  8. Preheat the oven to 350.
  9. Bake for 15-18 minutes.
  10. While the cookies are baking put your face up to the oven window and watch. Pray your cookies don’t leak.
  11. Once cooked, let them cool completely then sprinkle with icing sugar.

Enjoy!

37 thoughts on “Chocolate Nutella Bites

  1. Lynn!!! These look absolutely amazing. I love love love nutella. I’m so glad you came up with this recipe, and I can totally appreciate the little addition of espresso powder – it makes such a great difference in chocolate recipes. The extra dusting of suger is a nice touch too – perfect for this time of year.

  2. Lynn, these look absolutely heavenly! You’re making my tummy rumble even after I’ve had a full dinner :-) Thank you for sharing this recipe! I LOVE Nutella and pretty much anything that has to do with hazelnuts!

  3. Anything, anything with Nutella instantly grabs my attention, and this was no disappointment! Definitely genius, no madness involved at all.

  4. I love nutella. I’ve been known to spoon it straight from the jar. But I think biting into one of these would be better. I love your thought process here, and I think freezing the nutella balls was brilliant!

  5. Hi Lynn, I’ve got a blogger award for you – please visit my site to pick it up (if you wish of course). Looking forward to your new posts! :)

  6. Lynn, I don’t know why but it seems like my comment didn’t appear here… I wanted to say that I had a blogger award for you, so if you wish to pick it up, please visit my site :) looking forward to your new posts!

What do you think?