Cranberry Almond Granola Bars

I did something stupid last week. My cousin and I have been discussing going on a trip this summer. I haven’t booked anything yet because my condo is still not sold. On Wednesday I was having a bad day so I decided to pretend that I actually am going away, and I went bikini shopping.

It’s been a few years since I bought a bikini; I know I’ve gained some weight in those years, so I tried one size bigger than what I used to buy. Disaster. I was popping out and bulging over all over the place. It really was horrifying to see.

I did not buy a bikini that day.

The experience did have a positive side. It motivated me to start going to the gym again. Because of my commute to the office, it’s easiest for me to go early in the morning. I get up around 5:45 and I’m at the gym by 6:30. After my workout I hope on the bus and head to the office.

To keep myself going after my workout, I need a snack I can eat easily on the bus. I used to buy granola bars, but the amount of sugar in them defeats the purpose of working out. Instead I’ve started making my own.

The recipe still needs some perfecting, the bars sometimes break apart when I’m cutting them, but I decided to share the recipe anyway. If any of you have made granola bars, I’d appreciate any tips you might have.

Cranberry Almond Granola Bars

  • 1 ¼ cup oats
  • ¼ cup bran flakes
  • 1 tbsp flax seeds
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ½ cup dried cranberries
  • ½ cup chopped almonds
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • ¼ cup almond butter
  • ½ cup maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  1. Preheat the oven to 325. Line an 8 x 8 in pan with parchment paper.
  2. In a large bowl, mix the oats, salt, bran flakes, flax, chia, cranberries and almonds together.
  3. In a small saucepan, melt the butter then add the maple syrup, almond butter and vanilla. Stir until combined.
  4. Pour the butter mixture over the oat mixture. Stir until all the oats are covered.
  5. Pour the oat mixture into the prepared pan, spreading the oat evenly.
  6. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes, until browned.
  7. Let cool completely. Using the overhang from the parchment paper, pull the granola out, and cut into bars.

Enjoy!

25 thoughts on “Cranberry Almond Granola Bars

  1. These look really good! The granola bars I’ve made use sweetened condensed milk to keep them together. I like the idea of using maple syrup instead.

    1. You could leave out the bran, flax and chia, and use peanut butter instead of almond. You could even add chocolate chips!

  2. I like the look of these granola bars and have been thinking about trying out a recipe I found but your bars look pretty good. I wouldn’t worry about them falling apart, they won’t last that long anyway:-)

  3. I think everyone feels the same way about bathing suit shopping at the end of winter. The granola bars look incredibly good. Delicious, actually.

  4. Perfect snack for a good on the go bite! I know exactly what you’re talking about with the bikini shopping.. coming out of the winter hibernation isn’t easy for anyone!

  5. These look delicious and are so protein packed. What a great healthy snack. I might try adding a some honey or brown rice syrup to bind the bars together more – they’re thicker and stickier than maple syrup…but who cares if they taste great!

  6. These look healthy and delicious. I can use all the healthy I can find, to counter all the delicious that comes so easily!

What do you think?