Lazy Days and Granola

Winter in Canada can last up to 6 months. In Montreal the first snowfall usually happens in November and the last one in April (sometimes even May). To avoid going completely insane, many of us take up winter sports like skiing or skating. On top of keeping us entertained, winter sports teach us some valuable skills. Most importantly, they teach us how to fall. Basic rule of thumb; sideways is better than backwards.

This week was a tough week for me in terms of falls. Thursday night I was walking home from the bus when I slipped on some ice. My skiing training kicked in, and I managed to fall on my side. The only bruise I suffered was to my ego. Friday was a different story. It was around the same time of night, and the same place, but this time the training did not kick in. My feet went straight out from under me, my tail bone hit the ground first, immediately followed by both my elbows. This fall was bad, the kind that makes you want to cry for your mommy. Unfortunately I’m a grown up and crying for my mommy is no longer socially acceptable, although there was no one around so I guess I could have done it.

Thankfully, I had three days to recover. For Saturday and Sunday, my couch and I were almost inseparable. I had planned on doing nothing the whole time, but by Monday nothing got kind of tiresome, and moving wasn’t that painful. So to pass the time I decided to make granola.

If you are looking for tips on how to make good crunchy granola that actually stays in clumps, this post from Gourmande in the Kitchen is great. Sylvie gives several easy tips in the post, and I added a couple of them to my standard granola recipe. First I used her idea of adding fruit puree to the granola to provide extra moisture, second I used her “clumping technique” to create nice chunks of granola. The granola turned out really well, next time I think I’ll try a few more of her tips.

Granola

  • 2 cups quick oats
  • 1 cup puffed millet
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cardamom
  • 1/3 cup apple sauce
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 tbsp melted butter
  • 1 cup raw pistachios
  • 3/4  cup pumpkin seeds
  • 1 cup dried cranberries
  1. Preheat oven to 300. Line a baking sheet with parchment or a silicone mat.
  2. In a large bowl, mix the oats, puffed millet, salt, and cardamom together.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix the apple sauce, maple syrup, sugar, and butter together. Add the wet mixture to the oat mixture. Make sure all of the oats are covered.
  4. Spread the granola mixture on to the prepared baking sheet. Clump some of the granola together making sure there is room on the sheet for air to circulate.
  5. Bake for 20 minutes.
  6. Add the nuts and seeds, and stir the granola. Bake for another 25-30 minutes, until the granola is a golden colour.

Enjoy!

22 thoughts on “Lazy Days and Granola

  1. Omg, Lynn, so sorry to hear about that fall, it sounds horrible! But I’m glad you didn’t seriously injure yourself. I imagine if you fell hard enough you could shatter your elbows or tailbone?
    This granola looks scrumptious though. I’ve been wanting to make some of my own lately too.

  2. Ouch! I can remember one fall like that and I was skiing. Well, I had skis on, but I was just standing there when my feet went out from under me, I remember my head hitting the ground along with elbows. That was it for me for the day! Hope you are healing nicely, and it definitely looks like you are eating well. Love the granola. I’ve only made it once, but am missing it now that it’s gone.

  3. I am sorry to hear about your fall. Even though I only lived in Toronto for a couple of years I still remember the ice and my eyes watering and the tears freezing on my face. Hopefully you are feeling a bit better now. This granola looks great. I am always looking for new granola recipes.

  4. Owie. Poor you. :( I’ve been lucky not to slip on any ice this year (yet), but I’ve had my share of slips and falls.
    Hope you feel better soon! Lots of chocolate and granola ought to set you straight in no time flat.

  5. Oh, ouch! Sometimes, no matter how good our training, the fall happens too quckly and we can’t control it. I’m 37 and I thiink I would have cried for my mum, no question! Glad you had some time to recover, and make lovely granola!

  6. So sorry to hear about your fall, you’re probably lucky to have just a few bruises but it sounds horrible. A snowy and icy Winter can look and sound romantic from afar but I guess that solid ice can be dangerous;-(
    On a happier note, I’m loving your colorful homemade granola. I have to give this a try because I love it sprinkled on yogurt or baked into cookies etc.
    Thanks for sharing and for the tips. Stay off the ice, unless you’re skating;-)

  7. Hello! Stumbled upon your blog and I’m drooling just looking at all the photos. I hope you feel better! I’m from Toronto and several of my colleagues have also taken slips on the ice, unfortunately =(

    I must try this granola recipe! It looks delicious and healthy!

  8. I’m so sorry about your back. Ouch. You’re lucky you didn’t break something. The ice is really bad this year. Granola is a great snack any time of day and I love the idea of adding pistachios. Thanks!

  9. For once I managed not to burn my granola! I don’t know if it was your dry/liquid ratio, instructions, or lessons learned on my part but the granola tastes great. I changed the nuts and fruit to suit what I had but the basic oats/cardamom/applesauce combination tastes fantastic!

  10. Ouch! I hear ya on the falls…I had an embarrassin public fall on Monday….yep…fell flat on my face, elbows, and knees….the hazards of winter! Hope you have recovered and are staying on your feet. The granola looks wonderful!

    1. Reading entire books in one day = rnadieg super powers. Very cool. (I have them too)Granola is good. Wish they served granola on naval ships but I’m wouldn’t be surprised if some of the mess deck staff don’t know what granola is.I had rice in my salad tonight at dinner (?) Kind of reminded me of a chipotle burrito (SORRY for comparing your food brilliance to chipotle ) because they have that delicious cillantro (?) rice and lettuce inside along with the meatSalad dressing is good. They do have that on the mess deckDon’t know what to do with your basil? Try eating it, clown. With tomatoes and mozzarella. Duh.And I like the title of this post. Kind of familiar

What do you think?