Chickpea and Tomato Stew

When I got the March issue of Food and Wine in the mail last week, I realized it had been forever since I did a Magazine Monday post. For those of you have not heard of it, Magazine Mondays are an informal blog event hosted (usually) by Ivonne at Cream Puffs in Venice. The goal is for us to actually make those magazine recipes we have book marked. I’m sure many of us have the same habits. When we get a new cookbook or food magazine we are filled with excitement, but they often end up in a pile or on a shelf, their potential unfulfilled.  Personally, I love to spend weekend afternoons curled up on the couch with a hot cup of coffee flipping through a magazine. I drool over the gorgeous images, enjoy the articles, and fold down all the pages with recipes I want to make. More often than not a magazine will end up with most of its pages folded. Yet somehow when it comes time to find a  new recipe my first stop is always the internet. I think its because I usually have an ingredient in mind before I look for the recipe, and googling “chicken legs” is a lot easier than searching through all my magazines for a good recipe. That’s why I appreciate Magazine Monday so much; it reminds me that food magazines are for more than just drooling over.

This months Food and Wine is full of healthy recipes, which made it even more motivating. As usual there were plenty of them that I wanted to try, but this one really caught my eye. The pictures was gorgeous ( I admit it, I tried to recreate it and failed), and I had all the ingredients on hand. No need to run to the grocery store to make this! It’s a really quick meal to put together, which I’m sure many people will appreciate. The leftovers were also great, so I feel pretty comfortable calling this a good make ahead dish. It’s got a great flavour combination, with ginger and cumin being the dominant flavours. I ate it the stew alone and on a bed of basmitti rice; it’s good both ways, but I preferred it with rice. The original recipe called for a paste to be made with garlic, ginger and jalepenos; as I didn’t have the jalepenos on hand I just omitted them and sauteed the ginger and garlic with the onion rather than making the paste.

Chickpea and Tomato Stew

  • 3 garlic cloves, chopped
  • One 2-inch piece of fresh ginger, grated
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 tablespoons ground cumin
  • 1 tablespoon ground coriander
  • 3/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 2 15-ounce cans chickpeas, drained and rinsed or 3 cups cooked chickpeas
  • 2 cups water
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 tablespoons cilantro leaves
  1. In a large skillet over high heat, add the oil and onions sauteeing until the onions are sizzling.  Reduce the heat to medium and cook until the onions start to brown.
  2. Add the garlic and ginger and cook until the garlic is fragrant. Add the cumin, coriander, and cayenne; cook for one minute to bring the flavours out of the spices.
  3. Add the tomatoes and water then simmer until thickened.
  4. Add the chickpeas and simmer for another 10 minutes so that the chickpeas take on the flavours on the tomato sauce. Season with salt and pepper.
  5. Serve topped with yogurt and cilantro over a bed of basmitti rice or with naan.

Enjoy!

37 thoughts on “Chickpea and Tomato Stew

  1. This delicious dish is a popular side dish that goes with basmati rice or chapatis (Indian version of tortillas). A wholesome dish. In case you like it more spicy a teaspoon of chili powder along with the the other spices will help :)
    Same way for those who like it tangy a spoonful of mango powder or a teaspoon of thick tamarind paste will give the zing.

  2. oooo… I make a very similar dish to this with thinly sliced marinating steak and spinach added to it. I can vouch that the flavour is fantastic.

    And I think you did a great job with the photo!

  3. I’m in your boat. I don’t get magazines but I have a serious addiction to buying (or “collecting”) cookbooks. Every time I get a new one I swear to myself that i’m going to try at least 3 or 4 recipes before getting a new one but then I’ll turn around and buy another three. What can I say, I just like having them!
    PS This soup looks great. Aren’t you so glad you finally used a recipe? I always am when I do!

  4. I’m always on the lookout for satisfying vegetarian dishes for my veggie friends, and this looks like a winner. Warming, filling and full of protein.. what’s not to love? I really ought to get into the habit of picking up Food and Wine more often. Thanks for sharing!

  5. Deliciously simple. Thanks for sharing … congrats on top 9!

    I tried making a ginger paste recently and it didn’t work out so well so I’m glad you sauteed and it turned out nicely.

  6. My wife makes something similar to this (we are originally from India) for home/parties. It’s always a hit!

  7. Thanks for the recipe Idea., I picked up this mag too and was really intrigued by the same recipe. I’ll have to try it for sure! Perfect for these cold nights.

    THanks.

  8. LOL! I actually have this recipe turned down in my copy, but didn’t remember it until I saw it this morning on you blog. I remember thinking I even had the ingredients on hand. My husband is not really a chickpea guy, but I love them. Nicely done!!

  9. What a great idea…chickpea and tomato soup. Congrats on the Top 9.

    We invite you to share this post and some of your favorite posts on Food Frenzy.
    Please check out our community.

  10. I love seeing chickpeas that don’t turn into hummus! it looks great, especially for days that you fall into the snow:)

  11. Yum, just made this and it’s delicious! I notice one step is missing from the recipe… when to add the water. I presume it’s when you add the tomatoes?

  12. Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the pictures on this blog loading?

    I’m trying to figure out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any feed-back would be greatly appreciated.

  13. I only liked chick-peas when made into hummus, but this recipe gave a delicious dish. I followed it , but ommitted the coriander (didn’t have) and less cumin (not much left). Thanks!

What do you think?