Chocolate Banana Muffins

I had an incredible headache Thursday morning when I woke up. The kind that makes me want to lie perfectly still because any movement feels like an explosion in my brain. I stayed home from work and just lay in my bed for a few hours. It hurt too much to sleep or read, and the light from my computer or TV just intensified the pain. I let my mind just wander, if I wasn’t in pain it would have been kind of fun.

Eventually the pain lessened so I got up and started to work from home. Unfortunately my remote access wasn’t working. All of the emails in my inbox were from 2009, nothing I sent went through, and I had no access to any of the network drives. Oh well, I tried.

So what’s a girl to do on a Thursday afternoon when the rest of the world is hard at work? Make muffins of course.

These chocolate banana muffins are an attempt at eating healthy. Sort of. They’ve got whole wheat flour and no refined sugar. I probably could have cut back a little on the butter, but I figured I’d go one step at time, you know?


Chocolate Banana Muffins

  • 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 very ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup cinnamon chips
  1. Preheat oven to 350. Line a muffin tin with liners.
  2. In a large bowl, stir together the flours, cocoa, baking powder and salt.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix the bananas, egg, butter, and milk together.
  4. Create a well in the dry ingredients, pour the wet into the well, then stir until just combined.
  5. Stir in the cinnamon chips.
  6. Pour batter into the lined muffin tin, about 3/4 full. Bake for 27-32 minutes until a tester comes out clean. Let cool for 5 minutes in pan, then move to a cooling rack to cool completely (if you can wait that long)

Enjoy!

29 thoughts on “Chocolate Banana Muffins

  1. I’m so sorry that you weren’t feeling well on Thursday. At least you got to make muffins right? I’ve never had banana muffins with cocoa powder in the batter but it sounds delicious! I wonder if you could substitute the butter with 1/4 cup oil and 1/4 cup applesauce to make it healthier?

  2. Hi Lynn, I had a headache like that when I woke up after sleeping for 12 hours being jet lagged after my trip! I think your chocolate banana muffins sound just like my kind of thing…and the perfect cure for a bad bad headache:-)

  3. If I could devour all of these muffins, I would! But sadly I’m allergic to bananas. I can bake with them though and my mama would just love these. The combination of chocolate and bananas sounds perfect. Your muffins look absolutely delicious :)

  4. I hope you are feeling better by now. It sucks when you are home from work but can’t really enjoy your time. I’m glad you got to finally make this wonderful muffins!

  5. Love your blog!

    These muffins look fantastic…but I can’t seem to find the cinnamon chips anywhere in the West Island. Where did you find them?!

  6. Sounds like you had an awful migraine. I suffer from them too and the only thing to do is to take a couple Excedrin Migraines, take a hot shower and sleep for a couple of hours. Next time, I’ll be making these lovely muffins too.

  7. Hahaha how many times I’ve ended up baking “healthy muffins” or a “healthy cake” when I felt it was time to start eating more healthfully :)) I can relate to you! Great looking muffins. I’ve never heard of cinnamon chips before, sounds super intriguing! Do they melt while baking, or can you really feel them in the muffins?

    1. They melt a lot. I find they are similar in texture to white chocolate chips. Hershey’s makes them, but they aren’t sold everywhere.

      1. Oh I see! I guess I should start to buy foods online! Although after paying my latest bills I feel like we can only afford to eat potatoes, lol :) at least until the central heating season ends!

What do you think?